RSS

I Want to Be a Writer

07 Oct

I saw this post on twitter yesterday that someone had retweeted, “I have several ideas in my head, I want to be a writer, how do I go about it?” Well, after my eyes rolled and I chuckled a little bit, I thought about it.  What if it was a young kid?  Then I started feeling guilty because, regardless of the age of the person, they at least had the common sense to ask because it is true, there is no such thing as a stupid question, just stupid people that refuse to ask.  But at the same time, it is a little disheartening knowing that there are so many amazing writers out there putting their knowledge and experience online just for the sake of helping those that are willing to help themselves.  With a simple search online they could have easily found a multitude of answers to their questions.

Call me an opportunist if you want, call me helpful, please, because that’s what I want to do.  I want to give back for all the amazing help I have received.  So I’m starting a new ongoing series.  This time I’m going to share my little nuggets of knowledge that I have gained so far but I will also be showcasing some really amazing authors that have put their wealth out there for free to share with others.

Going back to the question at hand, if you want to be a writer, there is one thing you have to do or this series is going to be a complete waste of time for you.  If you cannot translate an idea in your head onto a piece of paper and wrap a tale around it, then your chances of being a writer are slim to none.  You can learn everything there is about writing, but knowledge alone is not enough.  You have to possess the skill.  I would love to be able to paint and draw, but I can barely draw a circle.  Not only do I know I do not possess the skill to be an artist of this type, but I don’t have the passion for it either.  If you have been following my blog then you know that I love to use the word “passion”.  There’s a good reason for it.  Passion is your drive, your need, your love, your consuming desire to do something that will relentlessly plague you until you do whatever it is your passion is driving you to do.  It’s not just about want because you feel the need to be a little creative.  It’s not about doing something that will bring you glory or attention and give you wealth beyond your wildest dreams.  In fact, most writers don’t want the attention that comes from success because it gets in the way of their writing.  A person that possesses the true passion will tell you that it is like a drug.  When you’re not writing you fight that underlying desire like an addict fights the desire for another hit.  It consumes your life if you don’t learn to balance yourself and remember that there are people out there, like family, that need you.  You may think I’m joking, but just remember, there is a reason why some of the best artists, regardless of what field they are in, are often the most eccentric and unsocial people you will ever meet.  They live through their art and to love them is to love their processes of expression because that is their gift to you and the rest of the world.

So do you really want to be a writer?  Does everything I just said make complete and perfect sense to you?  If not, then do yourself a favor and do a search for help that deals with writing for a hobby.  There’s nothing wrong with that.  Tons of people do it.  I just don’t want to waste your time.  If you have that writing passion, then I hope you will find this series helpful.

Next in the series – “I Have An Idea!”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 7, 2012 in IWTBAW Series

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
