RSS

How Do You Balance Your Life?

19 Sep

One of the most difficult things you will encounter as being a writer is learning to balance your life.  Family, taking care of your responsibilities around your home, your other job, your relationship with your significant other; all of those can be “full time” jobs in themselves.  But writing is like a whole other life outside of all of that.  Like an actor, you have to submerge yourself into a whole other world so that you can accurately relay what you see inside your head.  It requires deep concentration and consumes every quadrant of your brain.  My family has learned that I’m probably the most peculiar person they will ever meet.  I can sit for hours without saying a word, playing out a story in my mind, staring off into nothingness.  But the second someone calls me out on it, my mind snaps and all too often the scene in my head disappears into oblivion.  But that is only the matter of writing, you also have to concentrate on marketing if you plan on selling any books and yet there is so much more to a writer’s life beyond that.

So how does a writer balance it all?  How do you get your mind to stop focusing on one thing and place your full focus on all the other important aspects of your life?

Please take the time and let me know what you do?

 

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2012 in My Writing Journey

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “How Do You Balance Your Life?

  1. Rowan

    September 19, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    Haha – and I thought you knew! I don’t know, I don’t think I’ve got to that stage in my writing… Every once in a while, people drive me nuts when I’m on a roll, but what can you do? I mean, I generally think that I wasted time FOR writing by not writing, so I can’t really say anything. But I think that’s the thing about writing, at least with me… It seems absolutely determined not to stick to a schedule or a proper “place and time” thing, haha. But that’s one of the cool things, I guess.

     
    • Stephanie Laws

      September 19, 2012 at 10:43 pm

      I know exactly what you mean. Being a self published author, I don’t have to worry about deadlines or anything that boxes in my writing other than my own personal goals and ambitions. But then again, you have to look at yourself in the mirror everyday and face whether or not you are sticking to those goals.

       
  2. L. Darby Gibbs

    September 20, 2012 at 1:47 am

    My issue is just getting all the must does (paying the bills stuff) done, so I can sit and write. As a teacher, the school year is not the best time to write.
    Summer is my time. The rest of the year, writing is time I can steal away from grading, planning, tutoring, etc. And when I skim a little time off to write, I feel guilty because I should be giving that time to my husband or daughter. Ahhh.

     
    • Stephanie Laws

      September 20, 2012 at 1:53 am

      I feel the same way. I envy those people that can schedule their days out and always seem to have everything together.

       
  3. L. Darby Gibbs

    September 20, 2012 at 2:06 am

    I guess,Stephanie, one way I battle for balance is setting my mind to the fact that I need to write. So having it hanging out as a desire I want to achieve helps me work in the hope I will get the time. I have just started recording on my message app my ideas while getting ready for work just so I don’t lose ideas I have when I can’t write them down.
    Elldee (L. Darby Gibbs)

     
    • Stephanie Laws

      September 20, 2012 at 3:10 am

      That’s a good idea. It makes you wonder how many resources we have readily available, that if we would simply take the time to understand how to use them, we might actually simplify our lives. Computers and Smart phones can do amazing things. But they can be huge distractions when not used properly or purposefully.

       

Leave a Reply

 
