RSS

Approaching the Summit

14 Sep

Do you know that feeling you get on the way up an enormous hill on a roller coaster?  Your stomach clenches up. Your nerves grow increasingly strained with each tick, tick, tick, you hear.  You feel like you’re soaring up into the sky with only the view of the track blocking the wondrous blue sky above you.  Then you can no longer see the track as it abruptly dips down and all your left to behold is the boundless sky.  The upward progress of the car you’re sitting in seems to move slower and slower as you go higher and higher.  Then just as you reach the summit, for that one split second, everything seems to stop.

Well that’s exactly how I feel right now.  I’m waiting on the very last approval of my proof before it is ready to be put on the market.  Everything that could possibly go wrong seems like it has.  I have never fought with formatting so much in my life.  I had it all set before, but something happened between my first submission for the proof and this last submission that only had minor changes that should not have changed the format.  I was quite nearly in tears and had to walk away several times before I finally got it nailed down.  Now I feel like I am approaching the summit and every emotion you can imagine is flowing through me, combatting each other until the only thing I can do is laugh it off and remind myself that this is how things are when something amazing is about to happen.

This whole process has made me more aware of my own bad habits more than anything I have ever experienced in my life.  My impatience has been tested, my rashness has haunted me, my lack of focus has cost me, but in the midst of all of this craziness, I have grown immensely.  For the first time in my life I can look back at everything I have learned and know that it was well worth it.  I will use every lesson learned again and not a single second of the experience was a waste.  The book isn’t even fully completed but I already feel like I have conquered the first major mountain and now it’s time to soar.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 14, 2012 in My Writing Journey

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
