RSS

Once in a Blue Moon

01 Sep

Knightingale Proofs

Like any author, I agonized over what the cover would be for Knightingale.  I didn’t want it to be the, oh so common, picture of two people embracing in a lustful scene that most romance books use.  I wanted it to ooze the essence of my story in a thought provoking way that draws people in.  I never dreamed that the pictures I chose for the covers of the Knightingale Series would evolve into a story all of their own.

The night I took the pictures, was a magical night itself.  My husband and I were sitting outside, watering the garden, trying to save it from the horrible drought we experienced earlier this year.  We were watching the clouds moving in, hoping and praying they would relinquish the rain that they had dropped in the counties all around us.  Instead they brought forth another blessing.

The moon was full, glowing in all of its majesty, and as the clouds began to move in it looked quite literally as if someone was blowing hundreds of little puffs of clouds until there was a layer of cotton balls covering the sky.  As the clouds slowly meandered across the moon they put on a show that took my breath away.  I ran into the house to grab my camera and spent the next several hours taking pictures of the various scenes that played out before us.  I never dreamed they would turn out so beautiful, let alone think that they would serve as the cover of my books.

But it seems that God held many blessings for that wondrous scene and made even more evident by the arrival of my proofs on the very day of the rare Blue Moon.  When the order for the proofs was placed, the books weren’t scheduled to arrive for another week, I never dreamed they would arrive three days later.

There are many things that we say throughout our life that are so rare we often refer to them happening “once in a blue moon.”  Writing a book and actually publishing it is most definitely one of those things I used to think was near impossible for me.  But as I hold my very first book in my hand, I can look at the cover and know beyond a shadow of a doubt that this book was meant to be and God is pouring his blessings down on me.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
